Dear Adoptive Parents who leave comments

I am not

your open textbook

your case study

your living soap opera in which you can indulge your love for a gripping story

I am not your cautionary tale

to reassure you that you are doing a better job raising your adoptive children

than my parents did with me

I am not a mirror in which you can reassure yourself that you are better

superior

better adjusted

Don’t thank me for sharing my story

Don’t pat me on the head

Don’t tell me all of the intimate details of how you adopted children but their lives will be so much better than mine

It’s not about you

It’s not about you

it’s not about you

Now do you understand?

2 thoughts on “Dear Adoptive Parents who leave comments

  1. I seriously feel like they should pay me for my expertise and wisdom. Except I don’t want their stinking money either. Just leave some people, children and their families in peace would be a start. Find a hobby and interest that isn’t so destructive and deceptive.

Leave a comment